The smell of roses and dust

My grandfather loved the scent of roses. ‘”Ah, beautiful!”, he said, when he smelled a drop of Bulgarian rose concrete dissolved in jojoba oil. And so I made him his own bottle of Bulgarian rose concrete in jojoba oil. That he kept by his bedside and guarded as his ‘rose perfume’.

My grandfather loved it when I wore kumkum on my forehead. “Ah, beautiful”, he would say, whenever I’d appear with an accidentally large stain of kumkum on my forehead.

I just want to let him know, that I am going to wear a dot of kumkum on my forehead today.

And that I am smelling roses and keeping warm.

8 comments

  1. What a lovely post! It always amazes me the thoughts, memories, feelings that scents evoke. The scent of Pine tar always reminds me of my grandfather, and I cannot get enough of it. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the “anniversary” wishes!

  2. I, too, love the scent of roses. I have a rose-scented perfume that I bought when I studied abroad in Greece and whenever I wear it, it brings back wonderful memories of Greece. It’s truly amazing what scents can do.

Leave a Reply

