Mona di Orio

It is always very sad to lose a loved one, no matter what their age. However, when somebody so young dies, there is an extra shadow that lingers. I was very shocked to hear of Mona di Orio’s passing. I had recently discovered her perfumes, having bought a small split of her Oud perfume made from real oud from Laos. It is a beautiful perfume, with the deep sonorous oud, calming incense and the fruity edible osmanthus that weaves in like a coquettish surprise but stays like a cuddly soft blanket. I wore this perfume yesterday as my small tribute to the talented perfumer that Mona Di Orio was. I feel a little sad that I didn’t write about Oud while she was alive, but to invoke a cliche- better late than never?

Image Source: luckyscent

3 comments

  1. Tara

    I couldn’t believe Mona was just 42 – only a few years older than me. So shocking and tragic. I hope to try Oud one day soon as it sounds like a truly exceptional creation and even more so after your glorious description.

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Fragrant discoveries of 2011 « Pieces of paper, squiggly lines

Leave a Reply

